Eventually, most riders get them. The internet is littered with questions about getting rid of saddle sores. I know, I’ve looked through 80% of them. Some lucky people will go their entire lives without a single sore. Others will get them from time to time.

I’ve tried all the usual recommendations, changed position, saddle, shorts. Some seem to work but not for long. Eventually, I added a tube of Assos Skin Repair Gel to an order from Wiggle, just out of desperation. I wasn’t expecting much but it seems to have done the trick.

This stuff has been out in the shops for a good few years now. If you’ve not given it a go and still suffering I’d recommend it. If only for the cooling feeling you get.

I’ve done a couple of +50 mile rides, plus the usual daily rides and not had any issues. I’m almost surprised how well it’s worked so far. After testing the Giant Propel the other week, I did sense a bit of chaffing. The saddle wasn’t right at the right height for the first 20 miles. However, what would usually have turned into a sore seemed to go overnight.

Whether it works for you or not, I can’t say, but it seems to have solved my problem for now.