If you’re anything like me you will be enjoying “Book of the Week” on Radio 4 this week, “The Winter of our Disconnect” about a single mum who disconnects her home internet (removing all screen and phones) so that the family, including 3 kids, can do other things.

This morning I read a post on PR Squared, “The importance of boredom,” how Todd ended up doing very little over the holidays and found that this produced surprising side effects developing a four year plan and having a heart to heart with his son.

The question of homework was raised in Book of the Week but the writer tells of her kids improved marks in school, growing interest in playing musical instruments and reading books (not ebooks).

As author Susan Maushart also points out in the book, a plethora of research shows that multi-tasking doesn’t really exist and digital natives (a horrible term along with digital immigrants) pay a huge price in switching activities from one second to the next. They also have a real problem of being able to hold on to information. You may say that we don’t need to know so much these days as we have Google, but again she points out a huge number of kids need remedial help with searching skills.

Since the summer I have reduced the number of things I try to do at one time, I’ve tried to structure my time better… basically switched some things off. No Sametime (instant messaging) in the morning, I read my mail and get it done much quicker. This gives me time to check out Feedly and all my feeds. No Twitter notifications, I just check it a couple of times a day so when I have coffee so I can concentrate on what I’m doing. Weekend and evenings the computer goes off when I don’t need to work.

None of this is new though (empty your mind) and it’s not saying that any of this technology is bad, it’s just saying that you might want to balance the way that technology is used.

Enhanced by Zemanta
