A club juggler at South Bank, Lambeth, London,...
Image via Wikipedia

I love my job, in fact for many years it hasn’t even felt like work, its like getting paid for a hobby. There was a time when I felt uneasy about saying that.

Yesterday morning after talking with colleagues in Romania (@SilviaEmilia) and Norway (Anna) I feel a bigger spring in my step after talking about possibilities of doing new things and what we can do with existing communications – this is an everyday thing, even though I’ve had a headache for the last three days as I’ve spent weeks working on something and find it hard to stop.

And that’s the problem. Too many ideas, too many possibilities and am endless supply of information and possible ways to implement things. It’s great but it can mean you forget to do other things, like take a break and not keep researching or doing things.

I had coffee with @fmandelbrot in South Bank a week or so ago and he quoted someone, “We’ve learned to do flexible working but we’ve not learned to go to the cinema in the afternoon,” which is so true. Many of us can work anywhere and at anytime and find this no problem. With a global company it means I can work with a team in any part of the world and chat to them through several different media and frequently do, it’s part of the fun.

It’s actually a lot of fun and I learn a lot. But are we getting away at other times to do something else?

I was in a round table meeting yesterday as part of our Top Talent program with our Chief Exec in the UK, who mentioned in one of his answers about looking at what we achieve, rather than how much we have done. The problem with achieving things though (in my book) is that it leads you to try and achieve more, it can be addictive.

Enhanced by Zemanta
