After being in the IBM UK Communications team (Workforce Enablement) for a few years I’ve decided to make a change. A global role came up within IBM’sĀ  Systems and Technology Group (STG) Communications team, led by Tim Blair and Kirsten Graham.

37 degrees - the angle of the logo

The role is something new, not just for me but for IBM too. It is crossing the boundaries between internal and external audiences, with quite a bit of emphasis on workforce enablement and of course social media. I’ll be creating and packaging content, mostly if not entirely digital media, creating and managing online forums, plus the usual training, “this is how you do it, now get on with it” stuff I’ve been doing for a while.

I freely admit my level of knowledge of STG is not the best, but I do know we have some amazing subject matter experts that have fantastic knowledge, lots of interesting things to say and opinions to give, they just hide it and themselves well. The whole smarter systems for a smarter planet area has a lot going for it and it’s a story that needs to be told, not just for IBM but for our prospective customers, that can benefit from integrated systems, not the generic commodity systems that can be purchased elsewhere.

It’s going to be an interesting challenge for me personally, working in a very, very widely distributed team and in a very focused area.

I have had the best three years of my working life in UK Comms / Workforce Enablement – I’ve enjoyed (almost) every minute of it. I have had some fantastic opportunities, worked with some great people and been able to do some very interesting things, Transformation Jam being the last of those projects. Only on a few occasions has it actually felt like work.

So I’d like to say thanks to Mike Evason, Sophie Austin, Liza Jane Hicks, Rory Caren and the rest of the past and present team who have been fantastic to work with.Ā  The truth of it is I’ll probably continue to work with them on many things to come.

Although it’s a global role I’ll still be based in London and working from there. I fear a cycle ride to Somers might kill me.

Anyway, that’s my news for now.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
