Quora, Quora, Quora…but why?


Online Community - What is Next Panel 3
Image by Choconancy1 via Flickr

Every question you ever had you will now need to be asked on Quora.

That’s not 100% true, but I have felt like that today.   User growth is out stripping twitter at the moment but it’s base is still small, so still think it will be bigger than Twitter.

When I read the last article above I had my doubts, I still do, but Quora has appeal to be more widely used, especially as answers jump up the Google ladder in search and people start to monitor their own brands and products. Will be people be chatting on it all day, backwards and forwards, no. They will be dropping in when Wikipedia fails them or there isn’t a realiable forum or current avenue to seek help.

But this has been done before, many times but this seems to have hit a nerve, at least for the new year.

Still doesn’t answer the question of Quora.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Quora, Quora, Quora…but why?

  1. Ugh. I see Quora as being just another community in which I need to be participating (markets are conversations etc) but I’m bothered by a number of aspects such as the lack of strong curation, the UI, and the opportunity for flamewars. Definitely something to use with care, and that’s one reason why I’m hoping it is NOT “as big as Twitter”.

  2. The UI is quite bad, seen many tweets about people finding their initial experience overwhelming. Can you see who asks a question? I must be blind as I can see it at all.

  3. Pingback: Quora isn’t all that

Leave a Reply

